The Programming Insider Goodbye Message – 8/26/11

My last column goodbye message:

Friday, August 26, 2011

The Programming Insider:

The Final Edition


When I launched The Programming Insider on June 14, 1999, I had three specific goals in mind.  I wanted to offer the type of information that I knew would be beneficial (with an emphasis, of course, on ratings and scheduling).  I wanted to do it in a quick and entertaining way (compete with a daily trivia question at the bottom).  And I wanted the audience to be actively involved in this maneuver.  The ultimate plan was to create a daily destination for my favorite medium, television.


Flash to over 3,000 columns later, and I depart knowing that The Programming Insider did indeed make a difference.  Instead of just providing the data, I offered my observations of the medium as a both a professional in the business and someone who just plain loves TV.  Readers were never shy chiming in with their opinions.  And I am grateful to the great Bill Gloede for giving me this opportunity and coming up with a moniker I hope to be associated with forever, Mr. Television.  It was an honor to be part of the Mediaweek team alongside names in the caliber of Jim Cooper, Michael Burgi, Katy Bachman, Tony Case, John Consoli, Anthony Crupi, Mike Freeman, Lisa Granatstein, Andy Hartnett, Will Levith, Lucia Moses, Kevin Pearce and Mike Shields.  And it was a great pleasure to meet the countless people I have over the years via this column.  At the top of that list, of course, is Douglas Pucci (a.k.a. “Son of the Bronx”), the media maven who helped ignite spin-off chatroom, and our favorite blogger, Nate, who was never shy sending in questions for the daily podcast.


On September 6, I will be launching a new column, forum and website called TV Media Insights.  Similar to The Programming Insider, TV Media Insights will be chock full of ratings, observations, scheduling, breaking news and the old Mr. TV standby, TV trivia.  But unlike The PI, TV Media Insights (a.k.a. TMI) will go to the next step, taking readers more into the world of cable, syndication and, the wave of the future…digital.  With the start of the new broadcast TV season just 24 days away, there will be plenty to talk about at TV Media Insights.  You can sign-up now at


  1. […] To read his final Programming Insider newsletter, click here. […]

  2. […] To read his final Programming Insider newsletter, click here. […]

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.